scroll down
The Sleeping Army
by Francesca Simon

The Sleeping Army by Francesca Simon


What is it all about?

Freya is an ordinary girl living in modern Britain, but with a twist: people still worship the Viking gods. She's caught in her parents' divorce, and shuttling between bickering adults is no fun. One evening, stuck with her dad on his night shift at the British Museum, she is drawn to the Lewis Chessmen and Heimdall's Horn. Unable to resist, she blows the horn, waking three chess pieces from their enchantment; the slaves Roskva and Alfi, and Snot the Berserk. They are all summoned to Asgard, land of the Viking gods, and told they must go on a perilous journey to restore the gods to youth. If Freya refuses she will be turned into an ivory chess piece but, if she accepts her destiny and fails, the same terrible fate awaits her. Brilliantly funny, original and a wholly new take on the Norse myths - and the travails of contemporary family life

go back to the groups page

Publisher information

First published October 2011
This edition published by Profile Books
3A Exmouth House
Pine Street
Exmouth Market
London, EC1R OJH
United Kingdom
Text © Francesca Simon 2011

Reproduced by permission of:
Profile Books.

ISBN - 978-1846682780

go to the top of the page